Get to Know More about Your Love Language

Get to Know More about Your Love Language

Valentine's Day is a great opportunity to have quality time with your children and shower them with love. While Valentine's Day is often associated with romantic love, it's a holiday you can share with the whole family and provide an opportunity to teach your kids the importance of caring for others. Did you know that there are ways to show how you love people that are called 'Love Language'?

Love language describes how we receive love from others. There are five types of love language, which are:

  1. Words of Affirmation
    Words of affirmation are expressions of affection expressed through spoken words, praise, or appreciation. When this is someone's primary love language, they enjoy encouraging words and uplifting quotes, as well as love notes and cute text messages. You can brighten this person's day by complimenting them or highlighting something they do well. For example, say ‘I love you’ or leave notes saying you’re proud of them and be specific when you praise them.
  2. Quality Time
    This love language expresses love and affection for someone by giving them your undivided attention. If you are present and focused on them, they will feel loved. This includes putting down the phone, switching off the tablet, making eye contact, and actively listening. Reiterate what the other person is saying without offering advice. People with this love language value quality over quantity.
  3. Receiving Gifts
    For someone who has this love language, giving gifts is their symbol of love and affection. They value not only the gift itself but also the time and effort put forth by the giver. People who receive gifts as their primary love language do not necessarily expect large or expensive gifts; rather, it is the meaning behind the gift that appeals to them. In other words, taking the time to select a gift specifically for them shows them that you care about them.
  4. Acts of Service
    When someone does nice things for them, such as helping with the dishes, running errands, vacuuming, putting gas in the car, etc., they feel loved and appreciated. They enjoy it when people do little things for them and are frequently found performing acts of service for others. Let them know that you’re there to help.
  5. Physical Touch
    Physical affection is how a person who has physical touch as their primary love language feels loved. They feel loved when they’re holding hands, touching arms, or giving massage at the end of the day. They simply want to be physically close to their loved ones.

How do you know what’s your love language? Test and find out in here

Every family has to put love at the center of the family. Lack of love deprives people of many things, such as desirability and gratitude. Create a loving environment where children feel loved,  love themselves, and show love to others. Whatever your love language, don’t be shy to show your love to your family and friends.

Related News


Attention all students! We are pleased to announce that IICS will be opening the school…

Read More
Kartini’s Day: Inspiring Women’s Emancipation in Indonesia

Kartini Day is an important moment in Indonesian history which is celebrated every April 21.…

Read More
IICS Elementary Students Participate in Onsite Retreat Themed “CHANGED”

For many students, a school retreat can be a transformative experience. It's a chance to…

Read More
Visitation from The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzen to…

Ready to take your studies to the next level? On Monday 27 March 2023, IICS…

Read More